Anton Checkhov

Anton Chekhov

Sarha Ruhl

Sarah Ruhl



Three Sisters

by Anton Chekhov

Extended 5-Week Run!

February 7 – March 11, 2018

English version by Sarah Ruhl

Directed by Undermain Artistic Director Katherine Owens

Press Opening on Saturday February 10, 2018


Wednesday through Saturday evenings at 7:30 pm with Sunday 2:00 matinees on  2/18, 3/4, and 3/11.

Discover the humor and heartbreak of one of the world’s greatest plays by Anton Chekhov, revealed through the lyricism of one of the leading voices in contemporary theatre: two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Sarah Ruhl. Three Sisters, Chekhov’s great tragicomic is the story of women contending with disillusioned life in a small Russian town. The Prozorov sisters, Olga, Masha, and Irina, dream of freedom, sex, romance, and Moscow. Two figures appear in their lives. Vershinin, the new battery commander, has hopes of a better future for mankind. Natasha, a local woman, has hopes of a better future for herself. Each will transform the Prozorov family. A complex lattice of stories works itself out in this classic of world drama by the visionary Anton Chekhov. This production will offer the rare treat of experiencing this great work in the Undermain’s intimate performance space.

Three Sisters Newsletter 1718 pdf

“Sarah Ruhl has a taste for and a way with the classics.” – New York Times

“Luminous!…A crisp, breezy new English version by Sarah Ruhl. Its fierce beauty suffuses every moment and reaches for immortality.” – San Francisco Chronicle

“Exhilarating! Ruhl doesn’t call attention to herself here. Instead she lets the play breathe with a simple, unmannered approach to the drama that makes it seem shockingly contemporary…There’s a naturalness to the way the drama unfolds, the ebb and flow of the emotional outbursts, that leaves you breathless.” San Jose Mercury News

Buy Tickets Read More


Three Sisters

Ashlee Elizabeth Bashore


Benjamin Bratcher

Bruce DuBose

Justin Duncan

Edna Gill


Travis Wiley McGuire

David Meglino

Chris Messersmith

Brandon J. Murphy

T.A. Taylor

T.A. Taylor

Dean Wray

Dean Wray

Laura Yancey

 Creative Team


Katherine Owens -director

Katherine Owens

John Arnone

John Arnone
Sets/Lighting Designer

Paul Semrad

Paul Semrad
Sound Design

Giva Taylor

Giva Taylor
Costume Design

Linda Noland

Linda Noland
Properties Design

Danielle Georgiou